It’s safe to go outside now.

The temperature here in Quebec is gradually starting to rise above freezing: the sun is shining and the snow melting. Not fast enough {it’s back down to -1 C today}, but yesterday it was about 4 or 5 C, and finally Spring is beginning to be sprung.

I must be getting used to Quebec winters because anything above -5 is actually quite acceptable as long as the wind is absent… but really I’m a summer child: I was born in July and am most comfortable basking in the sun’s warmth.

I had to pick up a few things from a local supermarket yesterday, and it was so nice to be out in the sun that I detoured to the cemetery and took a few photographs.

DSCF3328

I almost didn’t make it very far into the cemetery because of all of this flooding from melting snow. In the end I persevered, taking baby steps along the icy edge.

DSCF3335DSCF3339DSCF3351

Last year I trudged out into the tundra a few times during the winter, but this year I’ve been mostly hibernating, so it’s good to get some fresh air and reconnect with the Earth after 5 months of freeze.

Can’t wait until the snow is gone, life returns to the land, and I can go on long walks and bike rides!

DSCF3361

DSCF3363

I still didn’t venture too far into the cemetery
because the snow was thick but melting.

Instead I had fun watching the crows play…

DSCF3372

DSCF3373

 

 The End

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

