Hyde and Seek

 

I am writing this under the influence of the full moon.

I can feel her silvery tendrils caressing my spine and stimulating my mind.

This is the second Full Moon this month ~ a Blue Moon, which occurs about every 2.7 years. Thus the saying “once in a blue moon”, referring to a rare event.

The term Blue Moon comes from the Old English word belewe, which besides “blue” can also mean “betray” or “betrayer”. Spooky.

There is mild controversy over whether the term Blue Moon should be used to refer to the rare second full moon in a month at all, as it seem it traditionally refers to the third full moon in a rare season with four… and was misapplied within the pages of a 1943 edition of Sky & Telescope magazine. You can read more about all of that kerfuffle here .

But anyway: it’s a full-blue-betrayer-twin-moon, and my mind is stimulated.

The Moon is full of myth, and I am full of Moon.

Although science and statistics seem determined to disprove the notion that the full moon drives people to lunacy, doctors, policeman, and werewolves would beg to differ.

Even if it is a largely self-determining state, it does one little justice to deny the restless thrill of roaming the night under Lady Luna’s full gaze. There’s something alchemical about the notion of throwing off the shackles of “normal” behaviour, and surrendering to the shenanigans of lunacy.

Or maybe that’s just me…

All these thoughts of twin moons and lunacy and werewolves (who are essentially people giving in to their animalistic natures), seem to evoke recurring themes within my psyche… Recently I have adopted an alter ego, The Ephemeral Man, to facilitate and stimulate creativity without my self getting in the way, with all it’s stifling expectations, demands, and presuppositions. 

When I am creating or thinking as The Ephemeral Man, I don’t have to think about what I am doing, or why, or what it means, or how it reflects on me – the other me – as a person.

I find it to be immensely liberating.

So far as The Ephemeral Man I have painted with music, captured perspectives with black & white photography, have written and recorded myself reading an episodic audio fantasy about a gelatinous blob called Pid.

I plan to continue along this vein, and perhaps take it further. I’d like to explore the psyche of a nameless ephemeral man with uninhibited creative urges, and see where that takes me.

This very post is mirrored on The Ephemeral Man site, where you can explore all the things I was telling you about. I’ve also made an Ephemeral Man page for this blog where I’m archiving some of his work.

There’s a really interesting article about the classic Robert Louis Stephenson story Jekyll and Hyde by a Mr. Steven Padnick called “What Everybody Gets Wrong About Jekyll and Hyde.” You can read it here. It argues that Jekyll wants to do the things he does as Mr. Hyde, that he revels in the freedom.

Dare I admit that the darkness thrills me as much as it fills me with dread?

Leave a Reply

